Vegan Red Velvet Cupcakes

I failed to mention in my previous entry that most of the baking that I do is vegan.  Why vegan?  Well, for one, I’m lactose intolerant so I only keep almond and/or soy milk in my home and two, egg yolk grosses me out to no end.  With that said, I took up vegan baking a couple of years ago and have not looked back since.  Do I occasionally bake things with eggs? Sure, but not often.  Below is a recipe that I’ve played with a lot recently and it gets better and better each time I bake it.

  • Ingredients:
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tablespoons dutched-processed cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons red food coloring
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line muffin pans with cupcake liners
  2. Put almond milk in a large bowl and set to the side
  3. Sift the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, and salt into a separate bowl and mix
  4. Add the oil, food coloring, vanilla extract, and almond extract to the almond milk.  Whisk well to combine.  Gently fold wet ingredients into dry, mixing until the large clumps disappear
  5. Fill cupcake liners about two-thirds of the way full, as these cupcakes tend to rise fairly high.  Place in hot oven and bake for 18 to 20 minutes.  Depending on your oven, this could either take 18 or the full 20.  Mine requires closer to 20
  6. Remove from oven and allow the cupcakes to cool for a few minutes before transferring to a cooling rack to cool completely

Then you should get something like this:

Now it’s time for the velvet icing.

  • Ingredients:
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup vegan shortening (Earth Balance makes a fantastic one)
  • 1/4 cup vegan margarine (again, Earth Balance)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 cup superfine or castor sugar
  1. In a small saucepan over medium heat, whisk together the flour and soy milk.  Stir constantly until the mixture begins to thicken and has a pudding-like consistency.  Remove from heat and allow to cool for 2 minutes.  Transfer to a large bowl and press plastic wrap onto the top of the custard to prevent a skin from forming.  Allow mixture to cool completely before the next step.  This is VERY important, as warm pudding could melt the fats
  2. Cream together the shortening, margarine, vanilla, and sugar then beat in the cold custard.  Beat with electric mixer for 4-6 to minutes; frosting should become lighter in color and have an extremely creamy texture, similar to thick whipped cream.  Frost on cooled cupcakes and pop them in the fridge for 10-15 minutes prior to serving

I ended up keeping my cupcakes stored in the fridge full-time.  I found the frosting consistency was much better when they were cold rather than when they were room temperature.

And ta-da!

Yeah, I ate one.  Don’t judge me.

This may seem like a long recipe, but trust me, it’s not.  The longest part is waiting for the custard part of the frosting to cool down.  Mine took a few minutes but that felt like an eternity.

I promise to take more pictures with my future recipes.  This just required a lot of assembly so I didn’t have much time.  I will also introduce you to my mixer Ruby eventually.  Yes, my Kitchenaid mixer has a name.  Enjoy!

 

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Vegan Red Velvet Cupcakes

  1. Renard Moreau says:

    [ Smiles ] Most impressive!

  2. Tara says:

    Oh, can’t wait to try this. I think I will leave out the food coloring because Zoe is hyper enough!! and she is lactose intolerant too and drinks only almond milk so you are my new baking goddess 🙂

  3. Tara says:

    yummy, we made these today! I loved the frosting, it was like pudding 🙂 Next we will try the vegan vanilla cupcakes…thanks Kristy!!

Say something

