Jerk Turkey Burgers

Leave it to me to jump from a vegan baking recipe to a lunch/dinner recipe that includes turkey.  I have never claimed to be a vegan.  It’s just a style of baking that I prefer.  With that said, I had a bottle of jerk seasoning that I had been impatiently waiting to use.  I LOVE spicy food.  I tend to make things a tad bit spicier than most would so if I ever cook for you, and you have a “virgin tongue” (take that however you like), you might jump.  Below is a recipe I have modified twice now and have finally perfected.

  • Ingredients:
  • 1/2 cup dry bread crumbs (I make my own using multi-grain bread and a good ol’ food processor)
  • 2-3 shakes of garlic powder
  • 3 tablespoons minced fresh parsley
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons Worcestershire (I call it wub-wub-wub) sauce
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons Caribbean jerk seasoning (Target makes their own brand and it’s surprisingly good!)
  • 2-3 shakes of Mexican chili powder (this is a personal preference, you can use any sort of chili powder that you prefer)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 lbs. lean ground turkey (brought to room temp.)
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 4 hamburger buns (you can also eat these without)
  1. In a large bowl, combine the first seven ingredients
  2. Crumble turkey over the mixture and mix until combined (the mixture should look pretty green due to the parsley)
  3. Shape into four patties (this is also enough to make six, smaller patties)

 

  1. In a large skillet, put in your oil and make sure it’s ready to go (throw some water on it)
  2. Put the patties in the skillet over medium heat for 5 minutes on each side or until no longer pink

These actually came out the same size but the shadow in the photo makes them appear to be two different sizes.

These come out super-moist (ALERT gross word!) every time I make them.  They’re also pretty thick compared to patties you may find in the store.  Again, these come out pretty damn spicy so if you’re not one for spice, subtract the chili powder and cut back on the jerk seasoning.  The wub-wub-wub sauce is very important.  I originally tried this out with a mix of soy sauce and apple cider vinegar, and while they were tasty, they weren’t nearly as good as they were this time around.

Have fun combining the turkey and the other ingredients!  That is always my favorite part!

 

 

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jerk Turkey Burgers

Say something

