3D Movies Usually = Waste of Money. Prometheus Does Not

I typically have an issue with movies that are constructed to be watched in 3D.  Why?  For one, the glasses.  Yes, I’ll admit I’m that guy girl who takes cheesy photos of myself wearing them prior to the movie starting but they’re still irritating to wear for 2 hours.  Second, the extra money.  $18.50 to see a movie in iMAX 3D?  $13 is enough for a regular ticket, if you ask me.

So why did I spent $18.50 and wear big, yellow glasses last night for Prometheus?  Because prior to buying my tickets, something in my head told me it would be worth every penny.  And I’m happy to say that it IS worth every single penny.  I considered typing up an entire movie review but I’m not here to do that (Rotten Tomatoes is your best friend here) and instead I would rather suggest that you spend the extra money and see this movie in at least 3D.

Once the movie was finished, I was actually kind of angry that I spent the money for Avengers in iMAX.  Not that Avengers wasn’t good (it was great!) but it was not worth the extra pennies for even 3D.  Prometheus is a visually stunning masterpiece.  To step away from the beauty of it for a moment, yes there were parts of the plot that were just okay but overall, it is definitely worth checking out.

To the lady waiting next to me on line (New York thing: we rarely say “in line”), did you really not know there were two separate movies; Alien and Aliens?  Certain people should not see this film.  Please do your research before buying a ticket or at least catch-up and spend a day in your house with a case of Bon Bons watching all the other movies.  This is not a direct prequel to Alien, however, knowing your stuff will help and it will also aid you in being that cool guy or girl at the theatre who goes, “I get that!”.  Okay, you’re not THAT cool if you actually do that but I did it and I like to think I’m pretty cool (in a witty, sarcastic, silly sort of way).

Go see Prometheus.  You will not be disappointed.

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 3D Movies Usually = Waste of Money. Prometheus Does Not

  1. I’ve been reading so many posts online from people who have never seen Alien/Aliens and saw this. Urge to kill rising!

  2. thesandincalifornia. says:

    waaahhh prometheus is already out? I thought I had to wait for another month!! I hate it when you go away for a trip and miss so much stuff cause you don’t have the time to check out the news. Now I really need to find someone to see it with me ASAP.

  3. Corrie says:

    My husband and I both have been so excited to see this movie! I wasn’t aware it’s in 3D so I’ll make sure I see it at Lincoln Center instead of my neighborhood theater. Thanks for the heads up?

Say something

