Dog Cookies (and they’re vegan, too!)

I’m unsure if I have mentioned this, but I’m a dog lover.  Not only do I have my own pups, but I’m also that person who sees a dog on the sidewalk and immediately turns into a 5 year old.  I squeal, I kneel down, I pet them behind the ears.  Crazy?  Yes.  But I love dogs!  With that said, I started doing research on what’s safe for dogs and what’s not safe (besides the obvious, such as chocolate and raw onions).  Below is a recipe for some tasty (I tried one, not gonna lie) dog cookies. Your dog will love you.

  • Ingredients:
  • 1 ripe medium-sized banana
  • 1/4 cup Canola oil
  • 1/4 cup warm water
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup rolled oats (oatmeal, to put it in plain terms)
  • 2 tablespoons flaxseeds, ground
  • 1/3 cup carob chips (optional.  the photo below is without the carob chips because they’re expensive and difficult to find)
  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. Mash the banana and mix it with the oil and water.
  3. Add the flour, oats, ground flaxseeds, and carob chips, and stir thoroughly to combine.  This creates a pretty stiff dough so you may want to use your hands to lightly knead it and press together to form a ball.
  4. Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and roll it out lightly to about 1/2 inch in thickness.
  5. Use cookie cutters to make any shapes you want and move the cookies to your prepared baking sheet.
  6. Bake them for about 20-25 minutes, until dry to the touch (these start out pretty moist due to the banana).
  7. Make sure they’re completely cooled before serving them to your pup!
  8. Store in an airtight container since these cookies are more moist than typical dog treats.  They only last about 2 weeks room temp. max.

These are ridiculously easy to make and use a lot of ingredients that may already be in your home!  One word about the flaxseeds, I’ve noticed they only come in large containers so you’re bound to have some leftover.  A lot of vegan cookie recipes use them to form the dough and they’re fun to play and experiment with.  I’m also a bigger fan of whole wheat flour than regular flour (I have a topical allergy to regular flour so even though I bake with it A LOT, I always end up with swelled hands by the end of the baking process).

Hope your pups enjoy!

 

 

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Say something

