Vegetarian Jerk-Seasoned “Meat” Tacos

A good friend of mine recently visited his Motherland (aka Jamaica) and knew exactly what to bring me back as a “souvenir”.  I have always been in search of authentic Jerk Seasoning and have always failed in finding it.  I like my food spicy, not to the point of being uncomfortable, but enough to add a kick to my mouth.  Any Jerk Seasoning I have found here has never quite hit this point.  It has always been either too sweet or far too bland.  Finally my friend brought me back the REAL stuff straight from Jamaica itself.  I then looked in my fridge/freezer and found Morning Star Crumbles.  I decided, hey! Let’s make tacos filled with jerk-seasoned “meat”.

  • Ingredients:
  • 1 bag Morning Star Grillers’ Recipe Crumbles (one bag of these equal one lb. of ground beef)
  • A spray of cooking spray or a bit of oil
  • 2 teaspoons Eaton’s Jerk Seasoning (they suggest 1-2 teaspoons.  I tried 1 1/2 and it wasn’t spicy enough for me so I made it an even 2 but for the “average” palate, I’d go with 1 1/2)
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper (this really helps amplify the jerk seasoning)
  • A dash of salt to taste
  • An 18 pack of taco shells (I used Old El Paso taco shells)
  • 1 diced tomato
  • 1/4 tablespoon reduced-fat shredded cheese (I used Sargento reduced-fat Mexican blend)
  • 1/4 tablespoon sour cream (I used Freindship reduced-fat sour cream)
  1. Heat up a skillet with some cooking spray or oil (whichever you prefer) and add the crumbles.  Let them sit for about 2 minutes before breaking them down and spreading them evenly.
  2. Add the jerk seasoning and move it around with the crumbles until fully combined.
  3. Add the garlic powder, combine.  Add the black pepper, combine.  Add the salt, combine.
  4. Once all of the above has been incorporated into the “meat”, remove the pan from the heat and set aside.
  5. Heat 3 taco shells at a time in the microwave for 45 seconds.  Proceed to set up the shells on a plate (or plates).
  6. Scoop in the “meat” mixture and top with tomato, shredded cheese, and sour cream.
  7. Enjoy!

My point and shoot has decided to shit the bed…Or at least the battery has.  I’m hoping it’s only the latter and a good few hours of charging will bring it back to life.  Below is a photo I took using my cell phone, which while it has a good camera, it’s not nearly as good as my point and shoot.

 

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Say something

