Whiskey Caramels

I have finally returned with a recipe!  The heat seems to be gone (for now), meaning I can return to my oven and provide you all with some more goodies.  Recently I was checking out a friend’s blog and saw a post for Salted Whiskey Caramels.  I quickly clicked the link and was taken here.  I was immediately intrigued because 1) I LOVE caramel and 2) I always have a bottle of honey Jack Daniels in the house (don’t judge me).  The only thing I was missing was a candy thermometer so I visited my local Target and bought one.  This is VITAL if you plan on making these, or any other candy, for that matter.  The temperature needs to be perfect before moving onto the next step and before they are completely done.  Below is my take on the recipe linked above.

  • Ingredients:
  • 5 tablespoons butter
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/4 cup whiskey (I used honey Jack Daniels)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher (coarse) salt
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/4 cup light corn syrup (I used the Target brand instead of Karo)
  • 1/4 cup water
  1. Line 9 inch square pan with parchment paper, allow the paper to drape over 2 sides.  Lightly spray with cooking spray.
  2. In 1-quart saucepan, heat butter, heavy whipping cream, whiskey, vanilla, and 1/4 teaspoon salt to boiling, stirring frequently.  Be careful that you keep an eye on this mixture.  The cream will rise and make a mess if it boils and you don’t quickly remove it from the heat. Remove from heat, set aside.
  3. In 3-quart saucepan, mix sugar, corn syrup, and water.  Heat to boiling over medium-high heat.  DO NOT STIR. Boil until water turns a warm golden brown and a candy thermometer reads  310 degrees F.
  4. When the sugar mixture is done, turn off the heat and slowly add the cream mixture to the sugar mixture.  Be careful, it will bubble up violently.  Cook over medium-low heat for about 15 minutes, until the candy thermometer reads 248 degrees F (there is a line on the thermometer labeled “firm ball”, that is the line it must reach before it is done).
  5. Pour caramel into the prepared pan and allow it to cool for between 15-20 minutes.  I suggest popping them in the fridge for 5 minutes to make them slightly easier to cut.
  6. When completely cooled, use a chef’s knife to cut in one quick swoop.  The quicker you can cut, the less it will stick.  The best way to clean your saucepan is to let it soak in cold water, this will cause the residue to “lift” and therefore will make it much easier to clean.

These were super-simple to make.  They are a bit tedious due to the fact that you need to constantly watch what’s going on and keep a good eye on the thermometer.  Now I want to make ALL the candies!   Who doesn’t love an excuse to use some honey flavored whiskey?  Enjoy.

 

 

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whiskey Caramels

  1. Erin says:

    I am super excited about this…I have some whiskey I need to use 🙂

    Erin – ekcantcook.blogspot.com

Say something

