Baked Chicken Made with Rosemary Salt

I recently acquired rosemary salt and decided I needed to experiment with it.  I’m not usually much of a fan when it comes to salt, however, the idea of rosemary and salt already combined was fascinating to me.  I also don’t cook much and prefer to bake (the chemistry of baking is addictive) but hey, I had chicken and this great salt to use, so why not?

  • Ingredients:
  • 1 lb. thin chicken cutlets
  • 1/2 teaspoon rosemary salt (this one was from Chelsea Market here in NYC)
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • vegetable oil to spray the pan
  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.
  2. Spray the pan with vegetable oil (just enough to coat it).
  3. On a plate (or cutting board), put your rosemary salt and garlic powder on both sides of each chicken cutlet.
  4. Put your black pepper on one side of each chicken cutlet.
  5. Transfer each cutlet from the plate to the pan.
  6. Put the pan in the oven for 20 minutes.  There is no need to flip these if you use the thin cutlets.
  7. After the timer goes off, remove from the oven and serve immediately.

This recipe is ridiculously easy.  I kind of made it up as I went along because I really had no clue what to do with this salt.  It came out incredibly juicy and flavorful but not overpowering.  Next time I might throw in some extra salt.  As you’ll see in the photo above, I made some cheesy Texas toast on the side.  I would post a recipe for this but let’s be honest; I use boxed Texas toast and just tossed some reduced-fat Sargento shredded cheese on the top.  The toaster oven did the rest.  I’m not gonna lie!  The chicken was much better than I expected.  I made these instructions easy to match the simplicity of this recipe.  Easy peasy.

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baked Chicken Made with Rosemary Salt

  1. AirportsMadeSimple says:

    Hi there! I’ve never heard of rosemary salt! Sounds delicious! I will definitely check it out. Thanks for writing about it.

Say something

