Pumpkin Feta White Chocolate Truffles

I had a potluck to attend yesterday an as of Thursday, had still not come up with an idea of what to make.  While on Buzzfeed, I came across a recipe for Pumpkin-Feta Truffles.  I was immediately intrigued.  I hate pumpkin pie but I love pumpkin.  I also have a deep obsession with feta but that’s probably due to my ethnic background.  I decided to give these a go since I had never made truffles before, they looked very tasty, and I’m always up for a challenge.  Below is my take on Buzzfeed’s recipe.

  • Ingredients:
  • 1 cup graham cracker crumbs (I used 8 1/2 crackers)
  • 1/4 cup canned pumpkin (NOT pumpkin pie filling)
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup cream cheese
  • 1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese (make sure these are VERY crumbled)
  • 2 tablespoons candied ginger I hate candied anything so I used 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 14 ounces high-quality white chocolate (I used Ghirardeli)
  1. Crush graham crackers into very fine crumbs.  I used the old ziplock bag trick and whacked them against my counter.
  2. Combine pumpkin, sugar, and cream cheese in a medium bowl.  Mix until they are very well combined.
  3. Add graham crackers and stir until all the ingredients are incorporated.  “Choke” a fork (hold it near the tines) and “paw” through the mixture to make this easier.
  4. Stir in the feta and ginger.
  5. Put the mixture in the freezer for 10 minutes.  After the 10 minutes passes, remove the mixture and form the mix into 16 balls (mine came out to 14).
  6. Put balls back in the freezer for 10 more minutes.
  7. As the balls are chilling (har har), put parchment paper on a baking sheet.  This is going to be your “dismount” for the truffles after they are dipped in the chocolate.
  8. Once your dismount is prepared, melt the white chocolate (make sure to chop the bars into small pieces first) then place the pieces into a heavy small saucepan.  Stir CONSTANTLY over very low heat until the chocolate is melted and warm (not hot) to touch.  Remove from heat.
  9. Using a teaspoon, dunk the chilled truffles into the melted white chocolate.  Roll the truffles around until they are covered, then pick them up with the spoon and put them onto your dismount.
  10. Chill the coated truffles in the fridge for at least 20 minutes or so.

These came our exactly as I imagined, which is a good thing!  Very very tasty.  I think my idea of using the ground ginger instead of the candied ginger was a good one.

If I don’t get blown away in this hurricane today and tomorrow, I will have another post shortly.  It will be a guest post with another fun recipe to try.  Stay safe if you’re in the path of the storm!  And make sure you have wine.

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pumpkin Feta White Chocolate Truffles

  1. cindy knoke says:

    Whoa, this looks great and really creative!

Say something

