Hurricane Sandy and a Guest Post

As all of you know, Hurricane Sandy recently hit the east coast pretty hard.  As a New Yorker, we are some of the people who were hit the hardest by this chaotic storm.  As of today, I still do not have any power in my home.  This has caused me to become “creative”.  Currently I am at my office (which has power) and am using their electric to power my phones and their heat to warm me up.  We have been told it may take a few days to get power back.  Honestly, if we do not have power by this weekend, I am heading to someone who does.  I hope everyone stayed safe through the storm.  Below is a guest post from Alexandra at Alex’s Journeys.  I will return with a “real” post of my own once my electric is up and running or I am somewhere (besides work) that has some electric to rely on.  Hell, I still have a Foodie PenPals Post to put up!

Bring Back Summer

By Alexandra Jacobs

We all miss the warm of the sun these October days, but you can always harness summer in some flavors you use in your meal preparation. This chicken can be prepared and served indoors or out, for a relaxing meal reminiscent of a luxurious dinner you might serve at your hamptons home . Enjoy fall flavors as well by replacing any fruit with apples or oranges for a different twist.

FANCY COCKTAIL

1 can apricot/mango nectar (12 ounce)

1 can pineapple juice (12 ounce)

3/4 cup water

1 can frozen orange juice concentrate (6 ounces, thawed and undiluted)

1 bottle cold champagne (750 ml)

Stir juices and water together. Just before serving, add the champagne and serve cold.

STRAWBERRY SALAD

Mixed baby greens for 4

1 cup sliced strawberries

1/4 cup feta or blue cheese, crumbled

1/4 cup glazed walnuts

chopped green onion, for serving if desired

crumbled bacon, for serving if desired

On each of four salad plates, place mixed greens, crumbled cheese, strawberries and nuts. Chill until serving.

Dressing:

3/4 cup unsweetened frozen strawberries

2 T. champagne vinegar

2 T. olive oil

onion powder, to taste

sea salt, to taste

black pepper, to taste

In a blender, add all ingredients and blend to combine. Drizzle each salad with dressing and top with chopped green onion and bacon crumbles, if desired. Here’s another twist to it!

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Say something

