Pumpkin Cake

I have something to admit: I hate pumpkin pie.  I hate when others make it and they go nuts with the nutmeg.  It completely ruins the natural pumpkin taste for me.  Therefore I never make it in fear that I, too, will add too much nutmeg.  I had to make something dessert-related for Thanksgiving this year so I decided to track down a decent pumpkin cake recipe.  I figured cake might allow me more control than pie (in my head, this made sense).  Luckily I found a Martha Stewart recipe for Pumpkin Cake.  I’m not typically much of a Martha fan but this looked too good to pass up.

  • Ingredients:
  • 8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature warm, plus more for pan
  • 1 2/3 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for pan
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon, plus more for top of cake
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree (Libby’s in a can works best)
  • 1/2 cup warm milk (I zapped it in the microwave for 30 seconds and it was fine)
  • Icing of your choice (not gonna lie, I bought Betty Crocker buttercream icing because I hate making icing)
  • Carmelized walnut halves I left these out because a lot of people I know dislike walnuts
  1. Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Butter a 9 inch round cake pan.  Line pan with parchment paper and butter the parchment.  Coat pan with flour, and tap out any excess.
  2. In a large bowl, sift together flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, salt, baking powder, and baking soda.  Set aside.
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat sugar and butter together until light and fluffy (this takes me about 7 minutes).  Add eggs and beat until combined.  Add pumpkin puree and milk, beat until combined.  Add reserved flour mixture.  Beat on low speed until just combined.
  4. Pour batter into the prepared pan.  Bake until a toothpick comes out clean, about 55-60 minutes.  Transfer the pan to a wire rack to cool.  Let the cake rest for about 20 minutes.
  5. Unmold the cake (this should be easier than usual due to the parchment paper).  Using a rubber spatula, spread icing over the top of cake.  Sprinkle ground cinnamon over top of icing.

I really wanted to leave it as is before the icing because it retained such a great pumpkin-color.  But people wanted icing and it was for the people, not me.

I’ve been baking so much recently due to the start of the holiday season and birthdays.  I have another recipe on deck.  I’ll probably upload that tomorrow morning at some point.  Have a wonderful weekend.

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pumpkin Cake

  1. Looks good! I need to try it.

  2. Yum! It is pumpkin pie’s sister. I think i’ll make this! Thank you for sharing in the link up!

    Amanda Rose
    sewmuch2say.com

Say something

