Baked Chicken Wings

Wings are one of those foods that nearly everyone likes.  They are simple, full of flavor, and great for get togethers.  I was a vegetarian for six years and the only meat that I missed was chicken.  I could do without red meat (I still don’t eat it unless that’s all that’s around), pork (I only enjoy pernil and occasionally bacon), and I don’t eat anything “gamey” (venison, etc.).  Wings are also one of those things that you can smell from outside your home and you instantly want them.  My only issue with wings?  The boneless ones.  Wings are meant to have a bone.  I cannot stand when people eat boneless wings in front of me.  With that said, below is a baked chicken wings recipe that I kind of threw together.

  • Ingredients:
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons chili powder
  • salt & black pepper to taste
  • 13-14 chicken wings
  • Sriacha (rooster sauce) to taste
  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine the olive oil, garlic powder, chili powder, salt, and black pepper.
  3. One by one, dip the chicken wings into the mixture and flip them so boat sides are coated.
  4. Once all the wings have been dipped, place them on a baking sheet.
  5. Drizzle Sriacha over the wings (not too much since this stuff is spicy).
  6. Put the baking sheet into the preheated oven and cook for about 1 hour, or until crispy and cooked through.

The black spots are from the Sriacha

These came out unbelievably light and crispy.  I usually dislike dry rubs (of sorts) on my wings, however, these still retained some messy characteristics thanks to the olive oil.  Definitely a great light snack.   Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Baked Chicken Wings

  1. Monique says:

    we just came back from crack chicken. cuz he needed wings. thanks.

  2. Phil says:

    I like chicken wings. I love chicken wings!

Say something

