Crock Pot Pernil (yes, it can be done)

I would like to start off this post by saying I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas!  I also hope Santa brought you everything that you wanted AND you ate a ton of food!  With that said, I’m posting a recipe that my friend Monique had made me for me earlier this year.  After much deliberating, I decided to give it a try on Thanksgiving.  Yes, this recipe is a bit “old” but you should try to make it, anyway.  And yes, I am aware there are several people reading this right now, groaning at the thought of using a slow cooker to make pernil.  Trust me, it’s good.  Trust me, it’s easy.  Trust me, you’ll appreciate this recipe.

  • Ingredients:
  • 1 pernil (Monique used a 3-4 lb. but I bought a big baby which was 7 lbs.)
  • 1 packet Goya sazon con achiote (I always buy the wholesale box from BJs and keep it around since I use this stuff on everything)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 4 garlic cloves, crushed
  1. Trim the pernil of all visible fat (I had to use a chef knife and culinary scissors to remove all of it).
  2. Season the pernil with the sazon and salt.
  3. Put the pernil in the fridge and let it sit overnight.
  4. Place the pernil in a 4 quart 6 quart slow cooker the following day.
  5. “Stab” random spots on the pernil and stuff the garlic cloves inside the stab wounds.  I waited to do this after it was in the base of the slow cooker so I could just turn it on right after I was done.
  6. Set the slow cooker to high and let it cook for 7-8 hours.  If you use a smaller pernil, like Monique did, yours should only take 4 hours on high.  I also have a bad habit of constantly opening the lid on the crock pot so….Yeah.

The meat literally fell off the bone once it was done.  I went to pick it up and plop, it wound up back where it originally was.  Your house will also smell amazing while this is cooking so you might want to go out for a bit.

DSCN0012

I attempted to take a better photo but it was tough to achieve.  I think this truly shows how it fell off the bone, though.  Like I said earlier, do not be afraid to slow cook pernil.  It will be moist, tender, and healthier than leaving all the fat on and popping it in the oven.

Now I am off to use my new Acer Chromebook.  Someone suggest the best Chrome apps for me to use!

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Crock Pot Pernil (yes, it can be done)

  1. Heidi says:

    Cutting all the fat off a Pernil sounds sacrilegious to me… Spanish foul!

  2. The pernil looks amazing. You and Monique are ridiculous cooks. Also, I applaud you cutting off the fat – keeps it more healthy and I bet it still tasted great! That is the better way to cook!

  3. Pingback: Crock Pot BBQ Boneless Pork Ribs (Shredded Pork) | Baking, Photography, and Sarcasm

  4. Pingback: Pernil-Style Turkey Breast | Baking, Photography, and Sarcasm

Say something

