Vegetarian Crock Pot Chili

It’s Valentine’s Day.  I will not be a Debbie Downer and share my true thoughts on this “holiday”, however, I will say it is something I choose to not celebrate.  Lucky for me, I have a significant other that feels the same way so we can be two grouches people with money leftover after February 14th together.

It snowed last week.  The first thing I made after the snow were crockpot brownies (the entry before this one).  The following day, I was still cooped up at home and decided to make vegetarian chili, also using the crock pot.  I was missing some beans I wanted to add in so I did manage to go to the supermarket but ultimately I decided to work with what I had.  Instead I bought my usual protein shake, that was supposed to have a “great” new flavor.  Instead it tastes like ass.  But that’s not what this entry is about so moving on…….

  • Ingredients:
  • 12 oz. (1 bag) veggie crumbles (I used MorningStar brand)
  • 1 can red kidney beans
  • 1 can pigeon peas
  • 1 can chick peas
  • 4 bayleaves
  • a dash of ghost chili flakes (I buy mine from Think Geek)
  • 2 tablespoons hot chili powder
  • 3 tablespoons molasses
  • 1 cube vegetable bullion
  • 2 teaspoons hot sauce (I prefer Infuse brand)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup water
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 1 cup hot water
  1. In a crock pot, combine everything except flour and 1 cup of hot water.
  2. Set the crock pot to high, close the lid, and allow it to cook for 3 hours.
  3. At the 3-hour mark, dissolve the flour in the cup of hot water.
  4. Pour the dissolved flour/hot water into the chili.
  5. Close the lid and cook for one more hour.
  6. Done!

Crock Pot Vegetarian Chili

 

This came out spicy but not to the point it was “OH MY GOSH HOT!”.  It had a nice, slow burn.  The cheese on top is rice cheese (completely vegan).  I did not add that to the ingredients list since it is totally optional.  The chili on its own is great.  I just like cheese on well, everything.  Plus I had to try out this new rice cheese.

If you like dogs, you’ll appreciate the post that will be up in the next couple of days.

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vegetarian Crock Pot Chili

  1. filbio says:

    We sound like a bunch or Grumpy cats!

    So, how does ass taste? What the heck did EAS do to their drink flavors? When are you going to cook this for us?

Say something

