Double-Chocolate Meltdowns

I recently attended a picnic in Central Park and needed to make something that would hold up well on the subway, as well as hold up in the heat that NY has been experiencing recently.  I decided to trust good ol’ Google since I was at a loss.  I quickly came across these double-chocolate brownie bites from Martha Stewart.  Martha has never done be wrong so I decided to give it a go.  As you can see by the title of this post, I gave them a different name since, to me, these did not really resemble brownies.

  • Ingredients:
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup Dutch-processed cocoa powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarse Kosher salt (I know coarse and kosher are technically the same but I try to be specific as possible on here)
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, room temp.
  • 1/2 cup packed dark-brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 7 ounces unsweetened chocolate, coarsely chopped (1 1/2 cups)
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  1. Whisk together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt.
  2. In the bowl of an electric mixer, fixed with the paddle attachment, beat butter and brown sugar on medium speed until pale and fluffy.
  3. Add honey to the butter/brown sugar mixture, and beat until fluffy.
  4. Reduce speed on mixer to low and gradually add flour mixture.  Beat until well-combined.
  5. Remove bowl from mixer and stir in chocolate (I recommend scooping from the bottom so everything gets all up in there).
  6. Refrigerate for a minimum of 30 minutes.  I went and walked my dogs while this was setting.
  7. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.  Prepare 3 baking sheets with parchment paper.
  8. Remove dough from the fridge and drop heaping teaspoons into a bowl of granulated sugar.  Roll and completely coat while shaping dough into balls.
  9. Transfer to baking sheets, spacing about 1-inch apart.
  10. Bake until tops are cracking (similar to a sugar cookie) and cookies are just set.  This took about 13 minutes to achieve on my oven but Martha says her oven takes 9 so keep an eye on these babies.
  11. Transfer sheets to cooling racks and let cool.

IMAG0804

 

These were a huge hit with everyone at the picnic.  I, myself, didn’t like them but knew they were good….Does that make sense?  I’m not a chocoholic by any means so anything super-chocolatey (like these) is way too intense for me.  The insides don’t completely bake so it’s pure chocolate in the middle.  I also added more granulated sugar, using a sifter, while they were cooling but you don’t have to do that if you don’t want to.

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Double-Chocolate Meltdowns

  1. Phil says:

    So sorry I missed these! Then again, I think you like to food torture me!

Say something

