Salmon Burgers

I have an annual BBQ.  Each year there is always at least one person who doesn’t eat something.  I tend to be one of those people myself.  I make it a personal goal to have food for everyone and for everyone to enjoy said food.  This year I had a Pescatarian on board.  Luckily, I love fish (as do many others who attend my BBQ) so I decided let’s try salmon burgers.  I, of course, had beef burgers and turkey burgers, as well.  Please keep in mind that the recipe below is a bit of a work-in-progress.  The taste was great and everyone loved them BUT I need something to bind them together better.  The lemon helped but not enough for my standards.  I’m open to suggestions.

  • Ingredients:
  • 1 (16-ounce) can salmon, drained and flaked
  • 2 whole eggs
  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley (doesn’t need to be fresh)
  • 2-3 shakes onion powder (if you’re fancy, you can chop up an onion)
  • 1/4 cup dry bread crumbs
  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1 pinch red pepper flakes
  1. In a medium bowl, mix together the salmon, eggs, parsley, onion, breadcrumbs, lemon juice, basic, and red pepper flakes.
  2. Crumble salmon over the mixture and get all up in there to start combining.  If you don’t use your hands to complete this step, I AM judging you.
  3. Form into 6-8 firmly packed patties (depending on the size you want them) and press your thumb in the center so they don’t “puff” when they’re cooking.
  4. I grilled mine in a grilling cage (you’ll see what I mean in the picture below) until they were completely cooked and looked like a yellowish color.
  5. Serve on a hamburger bun or eat by itself!
This was the only shot I took of them.  Those are them in the "cage".  Beef burgers and sausage (and hotdogs) are to the right (obviously).

This was the only shot I took of them. Those are them in the “cage”. Beef burgers and sausage (and hotdogs) are to the right (obviously).

These really were super tasty.  I’m actually looking forward to making them again sometime soon.

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Salmon Burgers

  1. Monique says:

    AH! Love me some salmon burgers. I use a tiny bit of dijon mustard along with eggs and breadcrumbs plus a little bit of panko. I think the panko, when moist, tends to swell and since its a bigger crumb than standard breadcrumbs might hold them together better in addition to the regular breadcrumbs. And the mustard…i dont know. I just did it and i liked it. Its been a long time. Those look amazing!

    • quinngoldie says:

      Awesome! Thank you for the tip! I might have to try panko. I typically use homemade breadcrumbs but I put these together the night before at 10:30 PM so I was exhausted and used regular breadcrumbs. Next time it’s that or Panko….Might hold off on the mustard, though 🙂

  2. Kitsu says:

    These look sooo delicious! My mom used to make salmon “cakes” (like crab cakes) all the time, and I think she just used crumbled salmon, mayo, and panko breadcrumbs. Maybe the mayo / panko would help the burgers stick?

  3. filbio says:

    Salmon burgers are the one thing I have not tried making yet, and I eat if for lunch almost every day during the week. If I was not running the Warrior Dash that day those kielbasa’s would have been in my belly!

Say something

