“Alien” Chocolate Sheet Cake

I don’t always make birthday cake for my friends, but when I do….It’s in the form of a sheet cake with Xenomorph Eggs on top.  A few weeks ago, I made these babies with the help of some molds I have.  One of my closest friends had a birthday approaching and I decided what would be more fitting for her than an Alien sheet cake.  One problem: I had never made a sheet cake before.  Solution: The Pioneer Woman’s recipe for the best chocolate sheet cake ever.  Below is my take on her amazing recipe that really did end up being the best sheet cake ever.  I am also including my recipe for my Jameson vanilla buttercream frosting, which I have posted here before but since I’m nice (sometimes) I am posting it again.

  • Cake Ingredients:
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 4 heaping tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter
  • 1 cup boiling water
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk (since the supermarket forces you to buy far more than you need for this recipe, pour the extra into an unused ice cube tray and freeze those suckers for another time)
  • 2 whole beaten eggs
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  1. Spray the corners and edges of a sheet cake pan with cooking spray.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. In a mixing bowl, combine flour, sugar, and salt.
  3. In a saucepan, melt the butter.  Add cocoa to the melted butter and stir together.
  4. Add boiling water to the butter/cocoa mix and allow mixture to boil for 30 seconds, then turn off the heat.  Pour mixture over the flour mixture and stir lightly to cool.
  5. In a measuring cup, pour the buttermilk and add the beaten eggs, baking soda, and vanilla.  Stir the buttermilk mixture into the butter/chocolate mixture.
  6. Pour into sheet pan and bake for 20-25 minutes (my oven took 23 minutes) or until a toothpick comes out clean.
This is what it should look like before you frost it!

This is what it should look like before you frost it!

  • Ingredients for Jameson buttercream frosting:
  • 2 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons heavy whipping cream
  • 4-6 tablespoons Jameson Irish Whiskey (I am totally lying about the actual measurement for this.  I just keep pouring it in until I’m satisfied)
  • 7-8 drops green food coloring (optional)
  1. In a standing mixer, fixed with the whisk attachment, mix together sugar and butter on low speed, until well-blended.
  2. Once the sugar and butter are well-blended, increase the speed to medium and beat for another 3-4 minutes.
  3. Add vanilla and whipping cream and continue to beat on medium for 1 more minute.
  4. Add Jameson and increase the speed to high.  As the frosting begins to form, add your food coloring if you don’t want plain white frosting.
  5. Turn mixer off and frost your cake (once it’s cool, of course!)
  6. Add your chocolate mold Xenomorph Eggs to the top, if you do so desire.
Ta-Da!  Finished product!

Ta-Da! Finished product!

I’m actually really proud of how this cake turned out.  I was a little nervous since it was my first time making a sheet cake but Pioneer Woman’s recipe was ridiculously simple.  This cake also went very well with my frosting and the chocolate eggs.  Overall, it took a LONG time to bring this all together (3 1/2 hours) but that’s mostly because the cake took what felt like forever to cool and I had to wait for the molds to finish setting in the freezer.  Definitely worth the wait, though.

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Alien” Chocolate Sheet Cake

  1. Trixie says:

    Thank you for my birthday caaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaake!

  2. Always amazing baking skills. Now on to a face hugger pie!

  3. Yum sounds delicious! Some great baking there 🙂

    http://www.jasmincharlotte.com

Say something

