Crock Pot BBQ Boneless Pork Ribs (Shredded Pork)

A friend of mine had had 4 pounds of boneless pork ribs sitting in her freezer.  We had a BBQ approaching and she pretty much shoved the ribs into my arms and said, “You’ll figure out something to make with these!”.  So off I went with 4 pounds of ribs and no idea what to do with them.  Then it occurred to me to make use of my Crock Pot.  I mean, why not?  Then it would have the opportunity to cook LOW and slow and I could go about enjoying the BBQ rather than keeping my eye on the pork as it cooked.  The reason why shredded pork is also in the title of this recipe is because since these ribs were boneless, obviously they just sort of fell apart after cooking for such a long amount of time.  So if you have boneless ribs and you plan on making this recipe, don’t think they will come out as ribs when all is said and done.

  • Ingredients:
  • 4 pounds boneless pork ribs
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 large onion, halved, thinly sliced
  • 3/4 cup apple juice
  • 1 18 oz. bottle BBQ sauce (I used Stop & Shop’s own brand because it’s tangy, cheap, and delicious!)
  1. Lightly grease the inside of the Crock Pot with cooking spray.
  2. Trim excess fat off the pork.
  3. In a mixing bowl, add the salt, black pepper, light brown sugar, and garlic.  Put the dry rub onto the pork and with a “pulling” motion, make sure both sides of each rib are covered with the dry rub.
  4. Place the thinly sliced onion in the bottom of the Crock Pot.  Place the pork ribs on top of the onion.
  5. Pour apple juice evenly over the pork.
  6. Cover the Crock Pot and cook on LOW for 9 hours.
  7. At the 9 hour mark, drain the liquids from the pork.  Pour the BBQ sauce evenly over the pork and use a large spoon to stir slightly and evenly distribute the sauce.
  8. Cover and cook again on LOW for 1 more hour.
  9. Remove ribs from Crock Pot and enjoy!

Crock Pot Boneless Pork Ribs

 

As you can see from the photo above, these became shredded pork that could easily be put in a hamburger bun and destroyed as a sandwich.  I say destroyed since you’re going to want to shove this into your face hole and not come up for air until you are done eating all of it!  I have made pernil in the past and dare I say this came out even better?  I think I need to adjust my time on my pernil!  Give this a shot and let me know how it goes.

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Say something

