Red Wine Chocolate Cake

What does one do when they have a day off, bottles of wine sitting around, and nothing better to do?  They bake a cake!  I honestly have a few bottles of red wine that I am never going to drink (don’t get me wrong, I LOVE red wine) because I’m picky with my wine.  Most were given as gifts at get-togethers and while I appreciate the gesture, I still stick with the wines I know and love.  Smitten Kitchen has this recipe posted and I decided to give it a whirl.  I made a few modifications so if you want to see what I did, keep reading.  If you want to see the original recipe, then click the link above and check that out instead.

  • Ingredients:
  • 6 tablespoons salted butter, room temp.
  • 3/4 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 whole egg + 1 egg yolk, room temp.
  • 3/4 cup red wine (I used a Malbec)
  • 1 1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup + 1 tablespoon AP flour
  • 1/2 cup Dutch-process cocoa powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking soda (eyeball it or measure out 1/4 teaspoon and cut that in half)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon (I used the GOOD Vietnamese stuff, honestly if you’ve never tried this you don’t know what you’re missing)
  • Powdered sugar (just for the topping once it cools so it’s up to you how much to use)
  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.  Line the bottom of a 9-inch round cake pan with parchment paper, and spray with baking spray (I used Pam) or butter it instead.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, fixed with the paddle attachment, cream the butter until smooth.
  3. Add the sugars and beat until fluffy, this should take around 3 minutes.
  4. Add the egg and the yolk and beat well.  Then add the red wine and the vanilla.  This is going to look disgusting in the bowl but just trust me and go with it.
  5. Sift the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, and cinnamon right over your wet ingredients.
  6. Mix until 3/4 combined.  Turn off the mixer and remove the bowl and fold the rest of the batter together with the help of a rubber spatula.
  7. Spread batter in the prepared pan.  Put the pan in the oven and bake for 25-30 minutes (this took about 28 minutes to finish up in my oven).  Check with a cake tester (or toothpick) and once it comes out clean, it’s done!  The top should look shiny and smooth.
  8. Cool the cake while still in the pan on the cooling rack for 10 minutes.  Flip the pan out onto the rack and continue to let it cool on the rack.
  9. Dust with powdered sugar and dig in!
Freshly sprinkled with powdered sugar

Freshly sprinkled with powdered sugar

It's a very thin cake but packs a punch

It’s a very thin cake but packs a punch

Let me start off by saying this will make your kitchen smell like red wine while it’s baking AND once it’s done and out of the oven.  If you’re a chocoholic, you will adore this cake, it will sing to you.  If you’re like me and you enjoy baking for others and only having a small taste for yourself, then you will find it far too chocolately and far too sweet.  I had another taste tester, who IS a chocoholic and she loved it.  While I know it’s good and the red wine helps to cut back on a bit of the sweetness, it’s still a bit too sweet for me.  I’m more of a savory-type-of-girl.  You’ll also see my modifications: I left out the salt because I used salted rather than unsalted butter.  I also did not make the topping because the powdered sugar was more than enough.  Overall, a great cake if you like chocolate and red wine and dessert.

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Red Wine Chocolate Cake

  1. I’d love to try this but I’ll have to wait until our birthday. Sad face.

Say something

