My Favorite Indie Lip Products

I haven’t done a makeup post in a while and since I am often asked where I get my lip colors from, so I have decided to let you all in on my secrets.  Okay, they’re not actual “secrets” but they’re also not major brands such as MAC, NARS, etc.  NYX is my all-time favorite makeup brand when it comes to lip products, however, some of their products can be a bit drying or just have trouble lasting the entire day.  When I noticed this happening with certain lip products, I decided to start expanding my makeup collection to independent retailers.  These smaller companies make and sell (mostly) natural lip products that don’t budge throughout the day and do not dry out your lips.  Below are some of my favorites.

Photo Credit: Silk Naturals

Photo Credit: Silk Naturals

Silk Naturals is one of my newer obsessions when it comes to indie brands.  Their Amplifying Lip Glazes were recommended to me, even though I have naturally full lips, simply because of the color payoff they provide.  The people who recommended them were not kidding!  Yes, you get the tingle when you first apply it but that quickly wears off and you’re left with shiny, full lips with a huge color payoff.  These also do not budge no matter what you put them through!  The real winner?  The cost!  $4.50!  That’s a steal, if you ask me.

Photo Credit: Beauty Bar Baby

Photo Credit: Beauty Bar Baby

Beauty Bar Baby is another favorite of mine.  They also happen to be an Etsy seller so if you already have an Etsy account and want a painless checkout, this is the place for you!  I am a huge fan of their lipsticks.  The first shade I purchased was Island of the Fay.  This lipstick comes in a chapstick-like tube which means after it’s been sitting on a USPS truck, it can be a little lopsided the first time you try to “push it up” from the tube.  These lipsticks also have a huge color payoff so it can be a bit messy to apply at times, however, if you use a lipliner and maybe a Q-tip (for some minor cleanup) you won’t have too much of a problem.  They are also extremely moisturizing thanks to their use of various oils.

Photo Credit: Life's Entropy

Photo Credit: Life’s Entropy

Life’s Entropy was one of the first indie makeup brands I discovered.  Everyone on various forums I visit kept saying how great the color payoff and how non-drying the formula was.  They were not lying!  This has quickly become one of my favorite brands.  Their Lip Theory Liquids are awesome.  It’s a bit of a learning curve since these babies come out of a tube-like package but you quickly get the hang of it.  They are available in a ton of fun colors ranging from yellow to blue to green (see thumbnail image).

Photo Credit: Fyrinnae

Photo Credit: Fyrinnae

Fyrinnae makes an item called Liquid Matte Lipstick.  Let me tell you something about these lipsticks: they do.not.budge.  This is the one brand I can rely on to last me throughout the day without needing a single touch-up.  Yes, they’re a bit more costly than other indies ($12.50) BUT you get a ton of product in a beautiful clear tube and it will last you a very long time.  I don’t know what their secret is but they’re doing something right!

Photo Credit: Etherealle

Photo Credit: Etherealle

Etherealle is another Etsy seller.  They pride themselves on making natural vegan cosmetics.  While I am not vegan, I do appreciate products that remain on the more natural side of things since they seem to be better at not drying out (and also, who really LIKES chemicals?).  Their vegan lipsticks are amazing.  The moment you finish applying, your lips are shiny and smooth.  My tiny issue with them is the fact the color does fade quicker than I would like, however, I can let that slide considering how soft the product keeps my lips.  I also enjoy their packaging since it comes in a chapstick-like tube and is relatively easy to apply.

If you have any feedback on these brands, let me know!  I would love to hear your thoughts!

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Say something

