Pepper Stuffed Chicken

I always label myself as a baker, however, sometimes I get a “vision” of something I want to cook, rather than bake, and I do my very best to make that vision come to life. My garden has had some peppers on steroids (as I affectionately call them) and I decided to put them to good use. Below is a photo of the peppers I used.

L-R: Aji Rojo, Poblano, Jalapeno, Fresno

L-R: Aji Rojo, Poblano, Jalapeno, Fresno

Since I had these beauties to work with, I decided that I wanted to make a stuffed chicken breast with these mixed with ricotta cheese. Again, I had this vision inside my head and could only hope it would come together accordingly.

  • Ingredients:
  • olive oil (for pan)
  • 1 aji rojo pepper, sliced and chopped with seeds removed
  • 1 poblano pepper, sliced and chopped with seeds removed
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, sliced and chopped with seeds removed
  • 1 fresno pepper, sliced and chopped with seeds removed
  • 1 15 oz. container fat-free ricotta cheese
  • 1 whole tomato, chopped
  • 1 garlic glove, minced
    • 6 boneless skinless chicken breasts (the ones I got from my favorite supermarket were MASSIVE)
  • salt
  • black pepper
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. and grease a deep baking pan with olive oil.
  2. In a food processor, combine the aji rojo, poblano, jalapeno, and fresno until each pepper is very small and well-blended.
  3. In a small mixing bowl, break up the ricotta with a fork. Using a rubber spatula, fold the pepper mixture into the ricotta until just combined.
  4. Add the chopped tomato to the ricotta/pepper mix, followed by the garlic clove. Fold until just combined.
  5. Create a pocket within each chicken breast and use a spoon to stuff a portion of the mixture inside (I eyeball’d this so I really can’t tell you just how much mixture to use). Seal each breast with 2-3 toothpicks.
  6. Season the exterior of each breast with a mixture of salt and pepper.
  7. Place all the stuffed breasts into the preparing baking pan.
  8. Bake chicken for 40-45 minutes.
  9. Remove chicken from oven and let sit for a couple of minutes. Enjoy!
When these babies were ready to go into the oven.

When these babies were ready to go into the oven.

DONE!

DONE!

Sliced open. Please note the size of this chicken. That was a lot to get through!

Sliced open. Please note the size of this chicken. That was a lot to get through!

My vision came to life! Everything turned out delicious and the 2 mild peppers alongside the 2 hot peppers really worked well together. Even if you’re not a fan of spicy food in general, I would still give this a try. It doesn’t give you an uncomfortable “kick” in the mouth. You can also play around with the peppers you want to use inside the mixture, I simply used these since I had them on-hand. Pro tip: use gloves when slicing the peppers. The spice from the peppers does not go away just by washing your hands. If you touch them bare handed, you will have a bad time. This is also why I was so repetitive in my ingredients list about slicing them and getting those seeds out! This is definitely a keeper.

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pepper Stuffed Chicken

  1. You know if I was there I would have eaten all of it.

Say something

