Orange Cake

I’m not a fan of orange anything (for the most part). I can’t drink orange juice (makes me sick) and I hate eating orange slices (the texture throws me off). So when I ended up with a supply of oranges, I had no clue what to do with them. Do I make juice for other people? Nope. Do I slice them and eat them? Definitely not. Eventually I stumbled upon this recipe and decided to try it out since these oranges only had a few days left on them and I would hate to see them go to waste. Below is my take on this orange cake recipe. I changed around a few things here and there, as you’ll see in the ingredient list.

  • Cake Ingredients:
  • baking spray (Pam with butter and flour is the best)
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, softened (I used Earth Balance vegan butter because it was all I had on hand and let’s be honest, it’s creamier than the real stuff so easier on your mixer)
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 3 whole eggs
  • 3 oranges, skin peeled, ends trimmed, seeds removed, cut into chunks
  • 2 1/2 cups AP flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. (if your oven is like mine, it will automatically go to 350 when you turn it on, so just scale it back). Coat a bundt pan with baking spray (make sure the center of the pan is also coated with spray).
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, fixed with the paddle attachment, beat butter and sugar on medium speed. Beat in eggs.
  3. Whirl orange chunks in a food processor (I actually did this step prior to even preheating the oven, however, you can do it in whatever order works best for you), until mostly smooth but not pureed. Add all of the orange mixture (it should equal about 1 1/2 cups) to the batter and beat until blended. NOTE: Your batter WILL look BROKEN when you add the orange mixture in. Trust me when I say it’s FINE and will look like a batter again after you add the rest of the dry ingredients in the next step.
  4. Add flour, salt, baking soda, and baking powder to the batter and beat until smooth.
  5. Spread batter into prepared pan and bake for 50-55 minutes, or until a cake tester/toothpick comes out clean.
  6. Cool pan on a cooling rack for 10 minutes, then invert cake onto the rack and let it cool completely.
This is what your cake should resemble after being inverted out of the pan.

This is what your cake should resemble after being inverted out of the pan.

  • Glaze Ingredients:
  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 3 tablespoons orange juice
  • water, as needed
  1. In a small mixing bowl, whisk together the powdered sugar and orange juice. Add water, as needed, to thin out the glaze a bit. The glaze was a bit too thick for me without water but if you like it thicker then omit the water all together.
  2. Drizzle glaze over cooked cake. Allow the glaze to set and serve!
Glazed and ready to eat.

Glazed and ready to eat.

This recipe was super simple to make, however, it’s also in my top 5 list of messiest recipes on the planet. If you have a guard for your Kitchenaid (stand mixer) I suggest you use it, especially when you add the orange blend to the batter. And as I stated above, your batter will look broken and gross after adding the orange blend but it will all work itself out after you add the flour (along with the other dry ingredients). This is not sweet whatsoever yet it’s absolutely delicious! There are bits of orange in the cake itself (which is also very moist) and the glaze gives it a nice tang (can I just add that Tang the drink was disgusting but this glaze is delicious?). Most difficult part? Pulling apart those damn oranges for the food processor.

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Orange Cake

  1. Orange you glad you made this cake! Har Har Har!

Say something

