Crock Pot Maple Dijon Chicken Drumsticks

Chicken is one of those things that a lot of the time you can wind up getting on sale. Typically this is the case because it’s close to reaching its expiration date and therefore the store needs to get rid of it. Pro tip: when this happens, you should purchase the nearly expired chicken and freeze it so you have it for later. This is exactly what I did and I ended up having a bunch of drumsticks and nothing to do with them. I decided it had been far too long since I had last used my Crock Pot so I checked out Skinnytaste because 1) Gina is my hero and 2) the woman knows a Crock Pot better than most. That’s where I came across this recipe and decided yes, this is what I want to make. I didn’t change anything on this recipe since I like all the ingredients and let’s be honest, the Crock Pot is what makes this chicken delicious.

  • Ingredients:
  • 8 skinless drumsticks (remove the skin first if you didn’t buy skinless)
  • 1/4 cup PURE maple syrup (please do not use Mrs. Butterworth)
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar (not vinaigrette)
  • 1/4 cup dijon mustard
  • garlic salt
  • fresh cracked pepper
  1. Season chicken with garlic salt and pepper. Place the chicken in the slow cooker (I have a 6 qt. so I had to overlap a bit).
  2. In a small mixing bowl, combine maple syrup, balsamic vinegar, and dijon mustard and whisk until smooth. Side note: this sauce is DELICIOUS! I will not judge you if you decide to taste it before pouring it on the chicken.
  3. Pour sauce over the chicken, making sure the chicken is covered.
  4. Set Crock Pot to HIGH and cook for 4 hours, or until the chicken is cooked through.
  5. Serve, devour, gulp down the sauce.
IMAG2249

Fresh out of the Crock Pot, notice the meat falling off the bone.

IMAG2250

I ended up serving mine with some egg noodles. Delicious combo.

This is probably one of the most delicious Crock Pot recipes I have ever made. The chicken was perfectly cooked, as well as perfectly seasoned. That sauce really brings the entire recipe together. This is also super simple to make so if you have a Crock Pot and the ingredients, you’re all set to make an EASY dish!

 

 

This entry was posted in Cooking, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Say something

