Pretzel-Crusted Chicken Cutlets

To my fellow New Yorkers: I hope you are staying inside today as the snow begins to melt from yesterday’s blizzard. Stay in, watch some Netflix, drink some booze. I wish I could say the recipe I am posting today was something I made during yesterday’s storm, however, I actually made this a couple of weeks ago. I was flipping through the latest issue of Food Network Magazine and came across a recipe for pretzel-crusted turkey cutlets. I am not a fan of turkey unless it’s the cold cut kind that I can throw between two slices of bread and call a sandwich. With that said, I decided to try this recipe out with chicken cutlets instead. The result? Caramelized pretzels that have changed my life in a positive way FOREVER.

  • Ingredients:
  • 2 cups small pretzels, crushed (I crushed them with the help of a Zip-Loc bag and a rolling pin)
  • 1 pound chicken cutlets
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne (Food Network called for paprika but I worked with what I already had)
  • kosher salt
  • ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon fresh thyme, chopped
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  1. Spread the pretzel crumbs in a shallow dish. Season turkey with cayenne, salt, and pepper. Brush 1 side of each cutlet with dijon mustard, then press into the pretzels to coat. Top each cutlet with thyme.
  2. Heat 1 1/2 tablespoons vegetable oil in a cast iron pan (everyone will tell you non-stick, I’m telling you cast iron) over medium-high heat. Add half of the cutlets, pretzel side down. Cook each side for 3-5 minutes. Transfer to a plate or an oven-safe dish. If using the latter, place the oven-safe dish in a preheated oven to keep warm (I set mine at 175 degrees F.).
  3. Use a spatula to pick up any remaining pretzels and eat those (I’m not kidding, they are absolutely delicious!). Place the remaining 1 1/2 tablespoons of vegetable oil in the pan and cook the remaining chicken cutlets. Once the remainder is done either continue to warm them with the first batch in the oven or serve immediately. Top all cutlets with any additional pretzels that you did not already eat.
IMAG2406

it possible to have a crush on food? If so, I have a massive crush on those pretzels.

This is the most addicting chicken recipe I have ever made. The chicken itself is barely seasoned but the pretzels give it all the flavor it needs. Serve it with a side salad or any other side you prefer. Make this today if you have leftover pretzels from yesterday’s storm. Don’t let all that sodium go to waste.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pretzel-Crusted Chicken Cutlets

  1. Chicken! Feed me more chicken! Yum!

Say something

