Cola Cake

A few years ago, for my birthday, a friend of mine made me Diet Coke cupcakes. They were easily the best cupcakes I had ever had. You can go ahead and tell me, “Magnolia is better!” but I will disagree. Since then I have wanted to make my own version of cola cake but not using a boxed mix (my friend’s version required Miss Betty Crocker which is fine and dandy in my book, but I love watching something come together with each individual ingredient). I finally tracked down a cola cake recipe in a Taste of Home cookbook. While I typically try to cut back on sugar and fat in my recipes, I simply could not do so with this particular recipe. You need the sugars, you need the fats. You’ve been warned. Your friend is on a diet? Too bad. Make this a cheat day meal.

  • Cake Ingredients:
  • 2 cups AP flour
  • 1 3/4 cups white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 12-ounce can Coca-Cola (I prefer Pepsi but for this, you need good ol’ Coke)
  • 1 stick salted butter, room temp. and cubed
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1/4 cup dutch processed cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 cups mini marshmallows (I took jumbo size marshmallows and chopped them up)
  • 2 whole eggs
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 13×9 in. baking dish. In a large bowl, whisk the flour, sugar, and baking soda.
  2. In a large saucepan, bring the cola to a boil; cook 7-9 minutes or until cola is reduced to 1 cup. Stir in the butter, oil, and cocoa powder; return to a boil, stirring occasionally. Remove from the heat; stir in the marshmallows until melted. Add to the flour mixture and stir just until moistened.
  3. In a small bowl, whisk the eggs, buttermilk, and vanilla until blended. Add to the flour mixture, whisking constantly. Transfer to the prepared baking dish. Bake 30-35 minutes (33 did the job in my oven) or until a cake tester comes out clean. Cool completely in baking dish on a wire rack (this took almost an hour and a half to completely cool so go run errands or something).
IMAG2892

I tested it twice (see the holes?) because I refused to believe a cake so moist was done baking in under an hour

  • Topping Ingredients:
  • 2 cups sour cream
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  1. In a small bowl, mix sour cream, brown sugar, and vanilla until smooth.
  2. Frost the damn cake and pretend all that caffeine from that can of Coke is seeping into your bloodstream.
IMAG2895

Caaaaake

IMAG2897

So moist, so good, so caffeinated (not really caffeinated but a gal can dream)

This is easily the most delicious cake I have ever made. It’s moist, filled with flavor (none of which is soda), and the topping adds a nice tart punch to it to cut some of the sweetness. Also no small appliances were harmed in the making of this baked good.

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cola Cake

  1. Jonnie says:

    // This week, Dr. G has written about the lack of clarity in the prtseancy/snregs research, the findings that are more consistent, and he gave some hints about how mothers can reduce stress. But, even though many parents are

  2. I am so sorry you had to go through the loss of your beautiful son. And I can't believe someone would dare say you hadn't bonded. You bond with that child from the moment you conceive and that bond grows more and more each day. And that bond continues forever, no matter what happens.The picture is beautiful and what a beautiful and sacred moment you shared with us. Thank you and love you.

Say something

