Baked Mango Chicken

Hi strangers! Sorry I haven’t updated in a while. Truth be told, I haven’t been cooking or baking much recently. I do, however, have a ton of recipes ready to be typed and uploaded, it’s just a matter of finding the time to do so. I decided to kick off my “return”, of sorts, with a recipe I just threw together because I had chicken thighs hanging out in the freezer and fresh honey mangoes (smaller, riper mangoes) that I was recently given. Since I always enjoy sharing my tips and tricks, I wanted to share my latest kitchen investment. This defrosting board ($30 on Amazon) is AMAZING! My chicken thighs were frozen solid and this board cut the defrosting time in half. Worth the money if you’re someone who prefers to not pop meat into the microwave to defrost and doesn’t have all day to spend waiting for meat to defrost on a countertop.

  • Ingredients:
  • 4 bone-in, skin on chicken thighs
  • black pepper
  • salt (I only use salt that comes with a grinder since I like to break it up myself)
  • minced garlic
  • 2 honey mangoes, sliced
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. and spray a small amount of olive oil onto the bottom of an oven-safe dish.
  2. Trim any extra skin off each chicken thigh, but be sure to leave most of the skin on.
  3. In a small bowl, mix together a healthy amount (eyeball it) of black pepper and salt.
  4. Rub the pepper & salt mixture onto both sides of each thigh.
  5. Using a knife, create a bunch of small “stab wounds” in each thigh and shove minced garlic in each opening.
  6. Place slices of mango on top of each thigh (I used 3 slices per thigh).
  7. Place chicken in prepared dish and cover with aluminum foil. Put in oven and set timer for 45 minutes.
  8. Once the 45 minutes is up, remove the foil, up the temperature to 400 degrees F. and cook the chicken for 15 more minutes.
  9. Remove from oven and serve! Be sure to pour the extra sauce over the top of the chicken.
IMG_20170730_192523

All done!

These thighs came out incredibly juicy and the extra sauce the chicken and mangoes produced was delicious! Cooking times may vary based on what kind of oven you use (I used my convection oven since my regular oven makes my kitchen way too hot in the summer months) and the size of your thighs. This makes for a great summer dish thanks to the use of the mangoes.

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Say something