Peppermint Brownies (Dairy-free)

A few weeks ago, I purchased peppermint extract because 1) I wanted to experiment with it and 2) I love peppermint.  I finally got around to baking today since the heat finally subsided (for the most part) and I was in the mood to make brownies.  I’m not a huge fan of chocolate yet it’s one of my favorite ingredients when it comes to baking.  It’s easy and it forms into whatever you want it to.  The recipe below for Peppermint Brownies can be considered vegan, however, I know hardcore vegans will argue it’s not either due to the oil I used and/or the fact I used regular sugar instead of organic.

  • Ingredients:
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups sugar (organic or “raw” if you want to go ALL vegan)
  • 3/4 cups unsweetened cocoa powder (dutch-processed)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup Canola oil (or vegetable oil)
  • 1 3/4 tsp organic peppermint extract (I used Cook’s)
  1. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt.
  2. Pour in the water, oil, and peppermint.  Mix until well-blended.
  3. Spread evenly into a prepared 9×13 in. baking pan.
  4. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F (I put this step further down because my oven heats insanely quick).

  1. Bake mix for 25 to 30 minutes; until the top is no longer shiny.
  2. Let cool for at least 15 minutes before cutting into squares….Or just digging in.

This is one of the easiest recipes I have ever made.  One bowl, one pan, one oven (okay, it’s usually one oven but forget that).  The peppermint makes your mouth feel minty and clean while the the chocolate plays on your tongue.  Now I want to buy more extracts.

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Peppermint Brownies (Dairy-free)

  1. alotonyourplate says:

    I love the idea of peppermint brownies!!! amazing 🙂

  2. Pingback: … and the winner of the “A Lot On Your Plate Use What You’ve Got” Brownie Bake-off is … (Guest Post) | A Lot On Your Plate

  3. Pingback: … and the winner of the “A Lot On Your Plate Use What You’ve Got” Brownie Bake-off is … (Guest Post) - A Lot On Your Plate

  4. Pingback: Russian Tea Cakes (Balls) | Baking, Photography, and Sarcasm

  5. Pingback: Coffee Brownies (dairy-free) | Baking, Photography, and Sarcasm

Say something