Dark Chocolate Peppermint Cookies

Merry Christmas Eve!  Sorry I haven’t been posting much recently but the holidays are always a busy time for me therefore I haven’t had much time to bake.  I recently attended a holiday get-together and was not asked to bring anything but I knew I couldn’t arrive empty-handed, especially the weekend before Christmas.  I quickly used the powers of Google to find a recipe since I was out of my own ideas and discovered this.  We all know how much I love peppermint so I knew I couldn’t go wrong with these.  Of course, they ended up being a wee bit too sweet for me but for someone with a sweet tooth, they’re great!

  • Ingredients:
  • 1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup dutch-processed unsweetened cocoa powder (I refuse to use Hershey’s brand but that’s just me)
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons instant coffee crystals (Nescafe worked great for this!)
  • 1/2 cup butter, slightly softened
  • 1 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract (if you use imitation, you’re going to have a bad time)
  • 1 cup white chocolate peppermint M&M’s
  • 1 cup bittersweet chocolate chips
  1. Mix flour, cocoa powder, salt, and coffee crystals in a medium bowl using a wire whisk.  Set aside.
  2. Using the paddle attachment on a stand mixer, cream the butter and sugar.
  3. Add eggs and vanilla extract to the butter and sugar mixture.
  4. Add flour mixture to the butter, sugar, eggs, and vanilla mixture and mix until combined.  Be sure to use your rubber spatula to clean off the sides of the bowl as it mixes.
  5. Remove the bowl from the stand mixer and stir in the M&M’s and bittersweet chocolate chips.
  6. Chill dough for around 30 minutes or so.
  7. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line two baking sheets with parchment paper (this came out to around two dozen cookies).
  8. Remove the dough from the fridge and using heaping tablespoonfuls, roll the dough into balls.  Some of the chips might drop to the bottom of the bowl and that’s OKAY!  You will want to use those babies later to push into the balls.  Ha, balls.  You can either add the extras into the center of the dough or wait till all the balls are formed and THEN add them to the tops.
  9. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until done.
  10. Cool on cooling racks and eat.

Dark Chocolate Peppermint Cookies

 

As I mentioned before, these were a bit too sweet for me.  They were, however, loved by everyone else that tasted them.  The peppermint M&M’s are a nice touch and as someone who enjoys white chocolate, I enjoyed munching on the ones I didn’t add to the dough.  I was actually surprised by how many cookies this recipe made.

Have a very Merry Christmas!  I hope Santa is good to all of you!  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Say something