Lady Luck is a Whore

Last night I was fortunate enough to have been invited to a showing of Lady Luck is a Whore at Theatre Row.  At first I was skeptical because I had read that it was a one-woman show.  These normally make me nervous because if that one person cannot hold your attention for over an hour, how are you able to sit through the entire show?  This was far from the case in Lady Luck.

After retrieving our tickets from the ticket window, we were warmly greeted by Susanne Pinedo who does PR for the show.  We were given press packets full of information about the show and Leanne Linsky.  We quickly realized the show is based off Leanne’s real-life experiences.  The show opened with a song that I can only imagine was titled, “Asshole”.  As a 20-something living in New York, I think a few women (and even men!) have wanted to sing a similar tune from time to time.

The show continued with an introduction to the main people in Leanne’s life up until now.  Leanne’s imitation of her father was beyond hilarious.  Her imitation of her mother reminded me of most of the older females that are present in my life.  The show also had a funny segment where Leanne would call God and would wind up speaking with an angel, most of the time, instead.  There was also a segment that showed Leanne’s experience working at a gun store.  I, for one, have never worked at a gun store but I can imagine that she was pretty “on point” with her description.

Overall, this one-woman show is absolutely fantastic.  It’s hilarious, has moments of sweetness, then switches back to making you laugh to the point you have tears rolling down your face.

After the show, we went downstairs to the concession area and met Leanne.  She is an absolute sweetheart!  We also ran into Susanne again, who is a great person, as well.  If you have the chance, definitely check out Lady Luck is a Whore.  After you’re finished checking out this particular show, I urge you to check out Theatre Row’s other shows.  Not only will you catch a wonderful show but you will also be supporting a wonderful show.  As someone who did music theatre for almost 14 years, I can’t stress enough how important it is to pay attention to the arts.

Thank you to Angel Rodriguez (NYC Talking), Susanne Pinedo, and Leanne Linsky.  I cannot wait to attend another show run by these fine people.

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Say something