Spicy Steamed Salmon

So I’ve been a bit quiet when it comes to recipes lately due to recent dental work.  This dental work has left me with barely any ability to chew and sores on my tongue….Therefore it’s pretty painful to eat solid foods!  One can only take so much pudding (and I can’t eat ice cream so there goes that idea).  After poking around online, I finally decided to hit the supermarket and see what kinds of “soft” foods I could give a whirl.  Someone had suggested fish so I went and bought some salmon, brought it home, stared at it, yelled at my mouth, and came up with the recipe below.

  • Ingredients:
  • 1 pound salmon fillets
  • 1/4 teaspoon rosemary salt (you can also use regular salt but I had this on hand)
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon Goya Sazonador Total (complete seasoning)
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon Ghost Chili flakes (these are VERY hot so be careful, and you can also buy them online if you can’t find them in a store)
  1. Lightly coat a steamer basket with cooking spray.
  2. Defrost salmon (if still frozen) using warm water (not hot since this may cause it to cook prematurely).
  3. Place salmon fillets skin side down on a cutting board, plate, whatever you prefer to use, slice them into smaller pieces, and proceed to season each fillet with rosemary salt, black pepper, Sazonador Total, garlic powder, and Ghost Chili flakes.  Make sure to rub the seasonings into each fillet.
  4. Fill bottom half of steamer with just enough water so that when you drop the basket back in, the water does not seep through the holes.
  5. Place salmon fillets in the the steamer and close the lid.
  6. Put steamer inside microwave and heat for 7-8 minutes.
  7. Remove steamer from microwave, pop open the top, and serve!

These were extremely simple to make and tasty, too!  As I mentioned earlier, be extra cautious with the Ghost Chili flakes, those babies are spicy.  If anyone has any ideas for “real food” that also happens to be soft, please share!  My poor mouth will appreciate it.

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Spicy Steamed Salmon

  1. Monique says:

    smashed butternut squash/potato/cauliflower. butternut squash soup/puree! foil baked fish, like tilapia, cod or catfish. I might have more ideas… you can also leave granola in yogurt overnight and it will be soft enough to swallow.

  2. Laura says:

    I am going to try this recipe during the week; thank you Kristy 😀

  3. Laura says:

    Yes you may definitely try it, just watch the consistency but it works like a charm. I made a cake out of the remaining batter and used Olive oil in place of butter and no eggs were harmed in this experiment lol…

Say something