Grilled Salmon

I’m crazy.  I hosted a BBQ recently and decided to buy a small charcoal grill because while I have a large gas grill, I determined I also needed charcoal.  Fast forward to the BBQ, and we made clams on the charcoal grill.  They were delicious.  But wait if I’m discussing clams, why is this post titled “Grilled Salmon”?  Well, after the BBQ ended and things were cleaned up, we all went to bed and the following day began.  I had salmon hanging out in the fridge (that makes it sound like it was just airing out in my fridge, no it was packaged, trust me) so I decided to make use of the charcoal grill again and grill some salmon on it.  Are you noticing a theme here?  Charcoal grill.  Buy one and experience the difference for yourself.  Below is my take on grilled salmon.  There are no actual measurements of anything because seafood (and chicken) don’t need that nonsense.  Eyeball it.

  • Ingredients:
  • 2 salmon fillets
  • olive oil
  • lemon juice
  • peppercorn
  • black pepper
  • salt
  • Bahama spicy seafood seasoning (my friend brought this back for me while he was on vacation but I’m sure you can find something similar even if you’re not vacationing in paradise)
  1. Place the salmon on aluminum foil.  This foil will later be made into a “packet” for the salmon to cook in so be sure to use enough.
  2. Using a basting brush, brush the olive oil on the side you WON’T be cooking the salmon on.
  3. In a small bowl, combine the lemon juice, peppercorn, black pepper, salt, and spicy seafood seasoning.
  4. Brush the lemon juice combination onto the same side you brushed the olive oil on.
  5. Form the “packet” using the aluminum foil and set aside.
  6. Prepare your charcoal, if you’ll be using this particular type of grill to cook your salmon.  You can also do this first, if you prefer.
  7. Place the salmon packet on the grill and close the lid.
  8. Let the salmon cook for 25 minutes, carefully remove from the grill then the foil, and enjoy!
Not the best photo but it displays one of the fillets alongside an awesome pasta salad a friend of mine made

Not the best photo but it displays one of the fillets alongside an awesome pasta salad a friend of mine made

The salmon was cooked perfectly at the 25 minute mark.  It absorbed some of that charcoal aftertaste and was falling apart once the fork dug into it.  The seasoning blend is something I just sort of came up with as I went along.  I knew lemon had to be incorporated somehow simply due to the fact that nearly every time I eat salmon, I say “this needs something”.  A rule of thumb in the food world is that that “something” usually means lemon or lime.  Ya know, unless you’re making a cake.  But I suppose that could also hold true since lemon cake does exist.  I will have a new baking recipe soon!

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grilled Salmon

  1. But but but…….where is the grilled chicken?

Say something