Pernil-Style Turkey Breast

I’m not a huge fan of turkey and prior to this week, I had never even attempted to make a turkey.  So when a turkey breast was defrosted and ready to be seasoned and cooked, I had almost no idea what to do with it.  I decided to just go with what I know, and season it similar to how I season pernil.

  • Ingredients:
  • 1 whole 7 pound turkey breast
  • Vegetable oil (I didn’t exactly measure this or anything below this point)
  • Black pepper
  • Salt
  • Goya Adobo or Sazon (depending on the taste you’re going for)
  • Minced Garlic
  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.
  2. Place rack in a shallow pan and place the turkey breast on top of the rack.
  3. Combine the vegetable oil, pepper, salt, and Adobo (or Sazon) in a small dish.  Use a brush to brush the mixture onto the turkey breast.  Try to cover it as much as possible.
  4. Using a sharp knife, create “stab wounds” and quickly shove the minced garlic into said wounds.  Any extra garlic that falls out or doesn’t fit into the holes can be massaged into the rest of the turkey breast.
  5. Make sure the turkey is breast side up and put it into the oven.  Cook for 3 1/2 hours or until a meat thermometer says it’s done.
Yes, it looked like a human heart.

Yes, it looked like a human heart.

This came out pretty delicious!  Like I said, I wasn’t quite sure what to do with this piece of meat but I went with what I do know and it came out great!  Yes, I linked to my original pernil recipe above but keep in mind that I make my pernil in a slow cooker (yes, I know people are cringing but trust me, it’s good!) and I made this in a traditional oven.  I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pernil-Style Turkey Breast

  1. It really does look like a human heart! Even if it was I would still eat it. Nom!

Say something